Women’s Golf Begins OAC Championship Run Today

Women’s Golf Begins OAC Championship Run Today

By: Ryan Gasser, sports information director

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Capital University Women's Golf will begin a three-day adventure at the 2018 OAC Championship on Friday, April 20. The Crusaders will vie for its first Ohio Athletic Conference championship at River Greens Golf Course in West Lafayette, Ohio in a tournament that is being hosted by the University of Mount Union.


Mount Union will host the 2018 Ohio Athletic Conference Women's Golf Championships Friday-Sunday, April 21-23, at River Greens Golf Course in West Lafayette, Ohio. The OAC Women's Golf Championship will be a 54-hole event with 18 holes each day over three days. The top-14 finishers receive All-OAC honors.

Capital senior and three-time All-OAC performer Katie Lease (Hilliard, Ohio/Hilliard Davidson) served as the Crusaders' top finisher in last year's championship, placing ninth overall behind a 263 (87-84-92) weekend score. Senior Janie Moller (Pickerington, Ohio/Pickerington North) also pulled in all-conference honors with her 13th-place finish (87-91-87-265).

Among the returners, junior Katelynn Kinley (Sycamore, Ohio/Mohawk) will return for her third OAC Championship and look to improve last year's 20th-place finish (272). She was a 2016 All-OAC selection as a freshman.

Junior Sydney Kelly (Worthington, Ohio/Thomas Worthington) will be new the championship lineup and enters with the team's lowest per-round average (88.73).

Rounding out the Capital lineup will be freshman Madison Harsh (Hilliard, Ohio/Hilliard Davidson) who is averaging 90.60 per round, ranking fourth on the team.

Mount Union won the 2017 OAC Championship for its second-straight conference title.

Ann Jobko of Otterbein won top medalist honors a year ago with a 54-hole score of 242 (79-80-83).

Last year, Capital finished fifth overall and has placed fifth or better in each of the last seven years, topping out at third in 2013.

More information can be found on the OAC Women's Golf Championship home page.