Manivanh, Joseph, Meeker and Coon Place Inside Top-Five at Harrison Dillard Twilight

Pictured: Noah Meeker (photo credit: Joe Maiorana, Impact Action Sports Photography)
Pictured: Noah Meeker (photo credit: Joe Maiorana, Impact Action Sports Photography)

By: Sean Neidig, sports information graduate assistant

BEREA, Ohio – Members Capital University Track & Field had another chance to improve their marks on Friday at the Harrison Dillard Twilight on Friday night at Baldwin Wallace University and the Crusaders were able to bring home several top-five finishes in the last meet before regionals.

Sophomore Taylor Manivanh led Capital with two top-five places. In the triple jump, Manivanh came in fourth with a leap of 10.94 meters. She improved on that in the long jump with a mark of 5.26 meters, the third-best performance in the competition.

Distance runner Larkin Joseph also earned a top-five place on the women's side with a fourth-place run in the 800-meter race. Joseph ran a 2:15.13, just six seconds behind the overall winner. In the 100-meter dash, senior Hunter Mouser qualified for the finals with a sprint of 12.83 seconds and then ran a 12.93, good for sixth-place.

In the combined 10,000-meter race, Hannah Westhoven and Mackenzie Meyers placed 11th and 12th with times of 39:41.42 and 39:59.19, respectively. They placed fourth and fifth out of the women in the event.

On the men's side, freshman Noah Meeker paced the team with a fourth-place time of 22.54 in the 200-meter dash. Meeker also ran an 11.18 in the 100-meter dash, the 10th-best time, and beat out teammate Kyle Farley by hundredths of a second. Farley placed sixth in the 200-meter race with a time of 22.70 seconds. Nicholas Santos placed 11th in the 200 and stopped the clock at 23.42 seconds.

In the shot put, senior Jason Coon earned a fifth-place finish with a throw of 16.02 meters. Freshman Josh Miller also placed in the top-10 with a 10th-place mark of 15.02 meters.  

Up next on the schedule for the Crusaders is the Great Lake Regional meet which will be held on Thursday, May 17 at the University of Wisconsin-Lacrosse.