Capital Men’s Track has Strong Showing in Opening Meet

Pictured: Nicholas Santos (photo credit: Joe Maiorana, Impact Action Sports Photography)
Pictured: Nicholas Santos (photo credit: Joe Maiorana, Impact Action Sports Photography)

By: Sean Neidig, sports information graduate assistant

WESTERVILLE, Ohio – After a long summer and fall, Capital University Men's Track & Field finally returned to action on Saturday at the Otterbein Invitational hosted by Otterbein University.

Senior Logan Allison (Gallipolis, Ohio/Gallia Academy) picked up right where he left off last year with a first-place finish in the long jump with a leap of 6.65 meters. Allison also was the first runner to finish the 60-meter dash with a run of 7.19 seconds.

Also in the 60-meter dash, sophomore Nicholas Santos (Annandale, Va./Falls Church), freshman Kyle Farley (Canton, Mich. / Lutheran – Westland) and freshman Noah Meeker (Powell, Ohio / Olentangy Liberty) finished third, fourth and fifth respectively with times of 7.36, 7.40 and 7.40.

Santos came out on top in the 200-meter dash with a first-place run of 23.16 seconds and Farley finished third with a time of 23.65. Meeker crossed the line in fifth in the 200 and sophomore Corbin Brown (East Sparta, Ohio / Sandy Valley) came in seventh with runs of 24.12 and 24.44. Freshman Mark Ross turned in a run of 26.67.

Brown's best performance of the day came in the 400-meter dash, a sprint of 54.02 seconds that earned him second place.

Senior Derek Knabe (Cincinnati, Ohio / Oak Hills) placed third in the mile run with a performance of 4:35.06.

In the shot put, senior thrower Jason Coon (Bernville, Pa. / Schuylkill Valley) threw his place to a first-place finish with a long throw of 16.12 meters. In his first collegiate meet, freshman thrower Josh Miller (Botkins, Ohio / Botkins) finished second in the weight throw with a toss of 12.04 meters.

As a team, Capital finished second overall with 123 points, 50 points behind overall winner Otterbein.

The team will be in Westerville again on Friday, Jan. 19 for the Ohio Athletic Conference South Split Meet once again hosted by Otterbein University.