Allison Becomes OAC Champ on Final Day of Championships

Allison Becomes OAC Champ on Final Day of Championships

Related links: OAC Championship page  |  Capital placers  |  All-OAC honorees

COLUMBUS, Ohio – On the second and final day of the 2015 Ohio Athletic Conference Indoor Championships, Logan Allison became a conference champion and earned a second All-OAC honor. He and Travon Bodrick earned all-conference honors in the same event while the Crusaders placed eighth as a team.

In his first conference championship Allison shined in his best event, the triple jump. He and Bodrick finished first and second overall, respectively, to earn a combined 18 points. Allison won top honors and became a conference champion with a leap of 13.89 meters.

Bodrick placed second with a best jump of 13.50 meters to also earn all-conference honors.

The finish was one of three events Allison placed in over the weekend. The freshman also shared seventh place in the high jump (1.87m) and a runner-up finish in the long jump (6.95m). He exits the weekend a two-time All-OAC performer.

Bodrick placed in a total of three events and of those put two top-5 finishes. In addition to his runner-up placement in the triple jump, the senior also launched a fourth-place finish in the long jump (6.62m) and then sprinted to a sixth-place finish in the 60-meter dash (7.12).

Also placing on Saturday was freshman thrower Myron Goldsmith (Columbus, Ohio/St. Francis Desales) with his fourth-place finish in the shot put (14.39m) and sophomore Luke Wills. Wills served as the third Capital jumper to place in the triple jump with a 12.65m leap. Both athletes set new personal records in their respective events.

Capital finished eighth out of 10 teams with 42.50 points.

The University of Mount Union ran away with the conference team championship with 209 points. John Carroll University placed second (116) and Ohio Northern University (94) edged Otterbein University (83) for third.

For complete championship information, results and awards visit the championship web page.